# probot-settings **Repository Path**: mirrors_reactiveui/probot-settings ## Basic Information - **Project Name**: probot-settings - **Description**: No description available - **Primary Language**: Unknown - **License**: ISC - **Default Branch**: master - **Homepage**: None - **GVP Project**: No ## Statistics - **Stars**: 0 - **Forks**: 0 - **Created**: 2020-09-25 - **Last Updated**: 2026-09-13 ## Categories & Tags **Categories**: Uncategorized **Tags**: None ## README # GitHub Settings This GitHub App syncs repository settings defined in `.github/settings.yml` to GitHub, enabling Pull Requests for repository settings. ## Usage 1. **[Install the app](https://github.com/apps/settings)**. 2. Create a `.github/settings.yml` file in your repository. Changes to this file on the default branch will be synced to GitHub. All settings are optional. ```yaml # These settings are synced to GitHub by https://probot.github.io/apps/settings/ repository: # See https://developer.github.com/v3/repos/#edit for all available settings. # The name of the repository. Changing this will rename the repository name: repo-name # A short description of the repository that will show up on GitHub description: description of repo # A URL with more information about the repository homepage: https://example.github.io/ # A comma-separated list of topics to set on the repository topics: github, probot # Either `true` to make the repository private, or `false` to make it public. private: false # Either `true` to enable issues for this repository, `false` to disable them. has_issues: true # Either `true` to enable projects for this repository, or `false` to disable them. # If projects are disabled for the organization, passing `true` will cause an API error. has_projects: true # Either `true` to enable the wiki for this repository, `false` to disable it. has_wiki: true # Either `true` to enable downloads for this repository, `false` to disable them. has_downloads: true # Updates the default branch for this repository. default_branch: master # Either `true` to allow squash-merging pull requests, or `false` to prevent # squash-merging. allow_squash_merge: true # Either `true` to allow merging pull requests with a merge commit, or `false` # to prevent merging pull requests with merge commits. allow_merge_commit: true # Either `true` to allow rebase-merging pull requests, or `false` to prevent # rebase-merging. allow_rebase_merge: true # Labels: define labels for Issues and Pull Requests labels: - name: bug color: CC0000 - name: feature color: 336699 - name: first-timers-only # include the old name to rename an existing label oldname: Help Wanted # Collaborators: give specific users access to this repository. collaborators: - username: bkeepers # Note: Only valid on organization-owned repositories. # The permission to grant the collaborator. Can be one of: # * `pull` - can pull, but not push to or administer this repository. # * `push` - can pull and push, but not administer this repository. # * `admin` - can pull, push and administer this repository. permission: push - username: hubot permission: pull # NOTE: The APIs needed for teams are not supported yet by GitHub Apps # https://developer.github.com/v3/apps/available-endpoints/ teams: - name: core permission: admin - name: docs permission: push ``` **WARNING:** Note that this app inherently _escalates anyone with `push` permissions to the **admin** role_, since they can push config settings to the `master` branch, which will be synced. In a future, we may add restrictions to allow changes to the config file to be merged only by specific people/teams, or those with **admin** access _(via a combination of protected branches, required statuses, and branch restrictions)_. Until then, use caution when merging PRs and adding collaborators. Until restrictions are added in this app, one way to preserve admin/push permissions is to utilize the [GitHub CodeOwners feature](https://help.github.com/articles/about-codeowners/) to set one or more administrative users as the code owner of the `.github/settings.yml` file, and turn on "require code owner review" for the master branch. This does have the side effect of requiring code owner review for the entire branch, but helps preserve permission levels. See [docs/deploy.md](docs/deploy.md) if you would like to run your own instance of this plugin.